Trueman - Olagon - A Cantata in Doublespeak - Dan Trueman, eighth blackbird, Gallicantus - 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Trueman – Olagon – A Cantata in Doublespeak – Dan Trueman, eighth blackbird, Gallicantus – 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Composer: Dan Trueman
Performer: Michaela McDonagh (vocals), Laura Gill (vocals), Iarla Ó Lionáird (vocals), Treasa Ní Mhiolláin (vocals), Dan Trueman (violin), Seán Ó Lionáird (vocals), Peadar Ó Lionáird (vocals), Páidí Ó Lionáird (vocals)
Orchestra: eighth blackbird, Gallicantus
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 192kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Cedille
Size: 3.44 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes
Server: rapidgator

Dan Trueman, eighth blackbird, Gallicantus /

Trueman – Olagon – A Cantata in Doublespeak (2018)

Dan Trueman

Olagón 1:31:04

Pt. 1:

01. Pillow Talk 8:19
02. Introductions 7:21
03. Marbhan’s Shadow 3:27
04. Being Only a Dame 4:59
05. A Queen Bee 6:30

Pt. 2:

06. Stirrings I 3:49
07. For Eons and Eons 2:08
08. Stirrings II 0:57
09. Motet for Medhbh 5:35
10. Níl Aon Ton-Ton 2:24
11. Stirrings III 1:26
12. You Know It’s a Salmagundi 4:07
13. Stirrings IV 1:18
14. Marbhan and Guaire 9:33

Pt. 3:

15. Pillow Talk Reprise 4:11
16. Restless Rest 2:09
17. Ululations I 1:27
18. Zeus to My Demeter 1:40
19. Only on Medhbh 3:42
20. Ululations II 1:08
21. Reeling Reels 4:11
22. Ailíll 3:12
23. The Book of Lamentations 7:31

Recorded: 09 October 2015 – 05 April 2017

Olagón: a Cantata in Doublespeak is the newest album from multiple GRAMMY Award-winning chamber ensemble Eighth Blackbird. The project finds the innovative new-music sextet collaborating with vocalist Iarla Ó Lionáird of the Irish supergroup The Gloaming, Princeton-based composer-fiddler Dan Trueman, and Pulitzer Prize-winning Irish poet Paul Muldoon. A modern retelling of an ancient Irish epic, Olagón depicts — not without irony and humor — a privileged “power couple” mired in envy, greed, and adultery, descending into criminality and addiction as Ireland’s “Celtic-Tiger” economy collapses in the early 21st century.

Trueman’s score combines elements of the traditional music of Ireland, Norway, and America with the raw urgency and sonorities of contemporary classical music. Muldoon’s text interweaves verses in English and Irish Gaelic, seasoned with word-play and wit.

Ó Lionáird, whom The Guardian calls “one of the most dramatic voices in contemporary music,” sings the text in the unique and highly ornamental Irish style known as sean nós. The production incorporates the gorgeous young voices of students of acclaimed Irish sean nós singer Treasa Ní Mhiolláin, who also makes an appearance.

Eighth Blackbird is “one of the smartest, most dynamic contemporary classical ensembles on the planet” (Chicago Tribune). Olagón is the new-music sextet’s ninth Cedille Records album. Four of their previous recordings won Grammy Awards in the Best Small Ensemble/Chamber Music Performance category.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation