Sophie Bevan - Songs of Vain Glory - Wigmore Hall Live - 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Sophie Bevan – Songs of Vain Glory – Wigmore Hall Live – 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: Nathaniel Davis Ayer, Frank Bridge, Benjamin Britten, Edward William Elgar, Gerald Finzi, Ivor Bertie Gurney, Franz Joseph Haydn, Gustav Theodore Holst, John Ireland, Charles Ives, Liza Lehmann, Ivor Novello, Arthur Somervell, Charles Villiers Stanford, Peter Warlock, Robert Patrick Weston, Haydn Wood
Performer: Sophie Bevan – soprano, Sebastian Wybrew – piano
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Wigmore Hall Live
Size: 1,01 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes
Server: rapidgator

Sophie Bevan – Songs of Vain Glory – Wigmore Hall Live (2018)

01. Finzi: Till Earth Outwears, Op. 19: VI. At a Lunar Eclipse 3:43

02. Britten: Folk Song Arrangements, Vol. 4 “Moore’s Irish Melodies”: X. O the sight entrancing 1:51

03. Somervell: To Lucasta, on Going to the Wars 1:15

04. Franck Bridge: Tis but a week 1:44

05. Charles Yves: Tom sails away 3:04

06. Gurney: Most Holy Night 3:20

07. Stanford: A soft day 2:36

08. Britten: Folk Song Arrangements, Vol. 3 “The British Isles”: III. Sweet Polly Oliver 2:18

09. Wood, Haydn: Roses of Picardy 4:42

10. Robert Weston, Bert lee: Goodbye-ee 2:45

11. Nat D.Ayer: If I were the only girl 2:32

12. Novello: We’ll Gather Lilacs (from Perchance to Dream) 4:10

13. Haydn: 6 Original Canzonettas, Book 2, HXXVIa:31–36: XXXI. Sailor’s Song 2:11

14. Elgar: The Fringes of the Fleet: III. Submarines 2:01

15. Britten: The Oddities: Tom Bowling 4:38

16. Gurney: The ship 2:38

17. Britten: Folk Song Arrangements, Vol. 4, “Moore’s Irish Melodies”: VIII. Oft in the stilly night 2:32

18. Ireland: Spring Sorrow 1:49

19. Lehmann, L: When I am dead, my dearest 2:24

20. Franck Bridge: Come to me in my dreams 4:09

21. Warlock: My Own Country 2:03

22. Holst: Journey’s End 2:16

23. Stanford: Songs of the Sea, Op. 91: IV. Homeward bound 6:29

24. Novello: We’ll gather lilacs (reprise) 2:17

Recorded live at Wigmore Hall, London, on 14 December 2014

With each season soprano Sophie Bevan grows in artistic stature and when taking breaks from her distinguished operatic career, she has always felt supremely comfortable performing songs. Her enduring partnership with Sebastian Wybrew began as students at the Royal College of Music and this, their debut release on Wigmore Hall Live, captures her beguiling artistry and astonishing vocal gifts.

A recital to commemorate the anniversary of the beginning of the First World War, Songs of Vain Glory draws from a wider range of songs in English depicting the excitement, disillusionment and peace of those who must leave to fight and the love, fear and loss of those left behind. From the timeless, astral perspective of Finzi’s ‘At a lunar eclipse’ to the oceanic depths of Elgar’s ‘Submarines’ and the cosy evergreen ‘We’ll gather lilacs’.

BBC Music Magazine

This beautifully programmed recital will make you want to rush out and buy as many volumes of British songs as you can…the real showstoppers are the lovingly rendered wartime lollipops, steeped in nostalgia, underlaid with sorrow and loss…[Bevan’s] sound is glorious, perfectly matched by Sebastian Wybrew’s tremendous versatility and sense of colour.

The Guardian

Ivor Novello’s We’ll Gather Lilacs and Haydn Wood’s Roses of Picardy sound poignantly lovely, thanks to Bevan’s bright but soft-edged soprano and Wybrew’s understated decoration. The recording captures the rapt attention of the audience in the hall.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation