Sir Colin Davis Anthology - Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra - 2014 (8 SACD-R, ISO)

Sir Colin Davis Anthology – Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra – 2014 (8 SACD-R, ISO)

Composer: Various Composers: Berlioz, Dvorak, Sibelius, Williams, Elgar, Tippett, Walton
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Sir Colin Davis
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 8 SACD-R
Format: ISO
Bit Depth: 64(2.8 MHz/1 Bit)
Number of channels: 5.0, 2.0 / Discs 1 & 4 – only stereo (2.0)
Label: LSO Live
Size: 23.04 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes
Server: rapidgator

Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Colin Davis Anthology

(no: Disc 3 – DVD-video “The Man Behind the Music”; Discs 10-13 RBCD: Berlioz: Les Troyens Acts I-V)

Disc 1 (Stereo)

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique; Les francs-juges (Overture)

01. Symphonie fantastique: i. Reveries – Passions
02. Symphonie fantastique: ii. Un bal
03. Symphonie fantastique: iii. Scene aux champs
04. Symphonie fantastique: iv. Marche au supplice
05. Symphonie fantastique: v. Songe d’une nuit de sabbat
06. Overture: Beatrice et Benedict

Disc 2 (Stereo and multichannel)

Berlioz: Te Deum

01. Overture: Les francs-juges
02. Te Deum: i. Te Deum
03. Te Deum: ii. Tibi omnes
04. Te Deum: iii. Dignare
05. Te Deum: iv. Christe, Rex gloriae
06. Te Deum: v. Te ergo quaesumus
07. Te Deum: vi. Judex crederis

Disc 4 (Stereo)

Dvorak: Symphony No 9

01. i. Adagio – Allegro molto
02. ii. Largo
03. iii. Scherzo: Molto vivace – Poco sostenuto
04. iv. Allegro con fuoco

Disc 5 (Stereo and multichannel)

Sibelius: Oceanides; Symphony No 2; Pohjola’s Daughter

01. Pohjola’s Daughter
02. Symphony No 2: i. Allegretto
03. Symphony No 2: ii. Tempo andante, ma rubato
04. Symphony No 2: iii. Vivacissimo
05. Symphony No 2: iv. Finale: Allegro moderato

Disc 6 (Stereo and multichannel)

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No 4

01. The Oceanides
02. Symphony No 4: i. Allegro
03. Symphony No 4: ii. Andante moderato
04. Symphony No 4: iii. Scherzo: Allegro molto
05. Symphony No 4: iv. Finale con epilogo fugato: Allegro molto

Disc 7 (Stereo and multichannel)

Elgar: Enigma Variations; Introduction & Allegro (stereo and multichannel)

01. Enigma Variations: i. Theme
02. Enigma Variations: ii. Variation I – CAE
03. Enigma Variations: iii. Variation II – HDS-P
04. Enigma Variations: iv. Variation III – RBT
05. Enigma Variations: v. Variation IV – WMB
06. Enigma Variations: vi. Variation V – RPA
07. Enigma Variations: vii. Variation VI – Ysobel
08. Enigma Variations: viii. Variation VII – Troyte
09. Enigma Variations: ix. Variation VIII – WN
10. Enigma Variations: x. Variation IX – Nimrod
11. Enigma Variations: xi. Variation X – Dorabella
12. Enigma Variations: xii. Variation XI – GRS
13. Enigma Variations: xiii. Variation XII – BGN
14. Enigma Variations: xiv. Variation XIII – ***
15. Enigma Variations: xv. Variation XIV – EDU
16. Introduction and Allegro for Strings

Disc 8 (Stereo and multichannel)

Tippett: A Child of our Time

01. i. No 1 The world turns on its dark side
02. ii. No 2 The Argument – Man has measured the heavens
03. iii. Interludium
04. iv. No 3 Scene – Is evil then good?
05. v. No 4 Now in each nation
06. vi. No 5 Chorus of the Oppressed – When shall the userers’ city cease
07. vii. No 6 I have no money for my bread
08. viii. No 7 How can I cherish my man in such days
09. ix. No 8 A Spiritual – Steal Away
10. x. No 9 A star rises in mid-winter
11. xi. No 10 And a time came
12. xii. No 11 Chorus of Persecutors and Persecuted – Away with them!
13. xiii. No 12 Where they could, they fled
14. xiv. No 13 Chorus of the Self-righteous – We cannot have them in our Empire
15. xv. No 14 And the boy’s mother wrote a letter
16. xvi. No 15 Scene – O my son!
17. xvii. No 16 A Spiritual – Nobody knows the trouble I see, Lord
18. xviii. No 17 Scene – The boy becomes desperate in his agony
19. xix. No 18 They took a terrible vengeance
20. xx. No 19 The Terror – Burn down their houses!
21. xxi. No 20 Men were ashamed of what was done
22. xxii. No 21 A Spiritual of Anger – Go down, Moses
23. xxiii. No 22 The boy sings in his prison
24. xxiv. No 23 What have I done to you, my son?
25. xxv. No 24 The dark forces rise like a flood
26. xxvi. No 25 A Spiritual – O, by and by
27. xxvii. No 26 The cold deepens
28. xxviii. No 27 The soul of man
29. xxix. No 28 Scene – The words of wisdom are these
30. xxx. Praeludium
31. xxxi. No 29 General Ensemble – I would know my shadow and my light
32. xxxii. No 30 A Spiritual – Deep river

Disc 9 (Stereo and multichannel)

Walton: Belshazzar’s Feast; Symphony No 1 (stereo and multichannel)

01. Belshazzar’s Feast: i. “Thus spake Isaiah”
02. Belshazzar’s Feast: ii. A tempo – “If I forget thee”
03. Belshazzar’s Feast: iii. “By the waters of Babylon”
04. Belshazzar’s Feast: iv. “Babylon was a great city”
05. Belshazzar’s Feast: v. “Praise ye the god of Gold!”
06. Belshazzar’s Feast: vi. Allegro molto – “Thus in Babylon”
07. Belshazzar’s Feast: vii. “Thou, O King, art King of Kings”
08. Belshazzar’s Feast: viii. “And in that same hour”
09. Belshazzar’s Feast: ix. “The trumpeters and pipers”
10. Belshazzar’s Feast: x. Allegro – “Then sing aloud to God our strength”
11. Symphony No 1: i. Allegro assai
12. Symphony No 1: ii. Scherzo: Presto, con malizia
13. Symphony No 1: iii. Andante con malinconia
14. Symphony No 1: iv. Maestoso – Brioso ed ardentemente – Vivacissimo – Maestoso

Review from

By Luukas:

Sir Colin Davis (1927-2013) did great work with London Symphony Orchestra. LSO Live published over 40 recordings with maestro, and this new limited edition box shows the best releases. There are two much-loved recordings on SACD in first time: Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique and Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9. The sound quality is excellent, much better than normal CD. Box contains also three previously unreleased performances: Berlioz’s Te Deum, Sibelius’ The Oceadines and Vaughan Williams’ Symphony No. 4. DVD documentary is very interesting. All in all, very interesting release.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation