Monteverdi - Heaven and Earth - The King’s Consort, Robert King - 2013 (FLAC, 24BIT – 48KHZ)

Monteverdi – Heaven and Earth – The King’s Consort, Robert King – 2013 (FLAC, 24BIT – 48KHZ)

Composer: Claudio Giovanni Antonio Monteverdi
Performer: Carolyn Sampson – soprano, Rebecca Outram – soprano, Charles Daniels – tenor, James Gilchrist – tenor, Sarah Connolly – mezzo-soprano, Michael George – bass
Orchestra: King’s Consort
Conductor: Robert King
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 48kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Vivat
Size: 681 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

The King’s Consort, Robert King / Monteverdi – Heaven and Earth

L’Orfeo 7:15

01. Toccata 0:39
02. Prologo: Ritornello – Dal mio Permesso amato a voi ne vengo 6:36

03. Zefiro torna, SV 251 5:18

Il settimo libro de madrigali, 1619 ‘Concerto’ 8:57

04. Ohime, dov’e il mio ben, dov’e il mio core?, SV 140 5:52
05. Chioma d’oro, SV 143 3:05

06. L’incoronazione di Poppea – Addio Roma 4:06
07. Il sesto libro de madrigali, 1614 – A Dio, Florida bella, il cor piagato, SV 110 4:14
08. Madrigals, Book 7 – Interrotte speranze, eterna fede, SV 132 3:22
09. Il sesto libro de madrigali, 1614 – Lamento d’Adrianna, SV 107 2:18
10. L’Orfeo, SV 318 – Possente spirto, e formidabil nume 9:29
11. Il settimo libro de madrigali, 1619 ‘Concerto’ – O come sei gentile, SV 120 4:59
12. Il ottavo libro de madrigali, 1638 ‘Madrigali guerrieri et amorosi’ – Lamento della ninfa, SV 163 6:23
13. Il quinto libro de madrigali, 1605 – Cruda Amarilli, SV 94 2:57
14. Madrigals, Book 8 – Hor che’l’ ciel e la terra e’l vento tace, SV 147 8:48

Recorded: 18 January and 7-10 February 2002
Recording Venue: St. Jude’s Church, London NW11, United Kingdom

Fourth release on the new VIVAT label features an outstanding collection of vocal music by Claudio Monteverdi.

14 glorious tracks present an exquisitely varied programme on the theme of love in all its conflicting emotions, its joys and sweet pains affecting gods and mere mortals.

All-star cast including Carolyn Sampson, Sarah Connolly, Rebecca Outram, Charles Daniels and James Gilchrist joined by The King’s Consort’s highly colourful instrumental ensemble.

Includes the melancholy ‘Lamento della Ninfa’, the virtuoso ‘Zefiro torna’, exquisite love duets, Orfeo’s famous ‘Possente spirto’, a plangent lament from ‘Poppea’, and Monteverdi’s extraordinary ‘Hor che il ciel’.

Recorded in the unsurpassed acoustic of St Jude-on-the-Hill, London.

48 page booklet with authoritative liner note by renowned Monteverdi scholar Prof. John Whenham, plus full texts and translations.

BBC Music Magazine

The star item in the opera selections is the aria ‘Possente spirto’…[Charles Daniels] is vocally clear and magically acrobatic in the melodic cascades…Connolly’s rendering of Poppea’s farewell to Rome (‘A Dio, Roma’) is a revelation, powerful and moving…[the recordings’] consistent musicality provides an impressive introduction to Monteverdi’s art.

Gramophone Magazine

Given the impressive cast involved, this anthology is in a sense self-recommending…This mix of opera and madrigal is a deft piece of programming, arguably worth the price of admission.

Sunday Times

Recorded in 2002, but previously unreleased, this is a “greatest hits”, and none the worse for that…some of the choicest numbers from the last four books of madrigals, each work a distilled music drama.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation