Kurtag & Ligeti - Music for Viola - Kim Kashkashian - 2012 (FLAC, 24BIT – 44KHZ)

Kurtag & Ligeti – Music for Viola – Kim Kashkashian – 2012 (FLAC, 24BIT – 44KHZ)

Composer: György Kurtág, György Ligeti
Performer: Kim Kashkashian – viola
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 44,1kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: ECM
Size: 478.5 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (booklet PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Kim Kashkashian / Kurtag & Ligeti – Music for Viola (2012)

György Kurtág (b.1926)

Signs, Games And Messages For Viola Solo 31:09

01. In Nomine – all’ongherese (Damjanich emlékkő) 4:39
02. Csendes sorok Dobszay Lászlónak 1:38
03. Levél Ligeti Verának 2:01
04. Zöld erdőből magyar nóta 1:30
05. Kromatikus feleselős 1:20
06. Virág Zsigmondy Dénesnek 2:30
07. In memoriam Blum Tamás 2:10
08. In memoriam Aczél György 0:58
09. H.J. – nóta 1:04
10. Vagdalkozós 0:28
11. The Carenza Jig 0:51
12. Kroó György in memoriam 3:42
13. Hommage à John Cage (Elakadó Szavak) 1:21
14. Doloroso 1:37
15. Perpetuum mobile 1:08
16. Jelek I 0:55
17. Jelek II 0:42
18. Négy összefonódó test – Gerlóczy Sári kiállítására 0:32
19. Panaszos nóta 2:03

György Ligeti (1923-2006)

Sonata for Viola Solo 23:51

20. 1. Hora lungă 5:23
21. 2. Loop 2:36
22. 3. Facsar 6:17
23. 4. Prestissimo con sordino 1:46
24. 5. Lamento 3:46
25. 6. Chaconne chromatique 4:03

Recorded: 2011-05-17
Recording Venue: Propstei St. Gerold

The great viola player Kim Kashkashian has long been one of the most outstanding protagonists of modern composition and this bold and subtle account of solo music by the great Hungarian composers György Kurtág and György Ligeti is a landmark recording. Kurtág’s Signs, Games and Messages (1989- in progress) in its 19 aphoristic sections is as demanding as Ligeti’s Sonata for viola (1991-94), but Kashkashian surmounts the very different challenges of the works, and points towards the qualities that unite these composers. As ever, she gets to the heart of the music, and unravels its secrets.

In his liner note, Wolfgang Sandner comments: “For twenty years Kim Kashkashian has devoted herself to Kurtág’s complex oeuvre for the viola and developed a remarkable rapport for the relation between compositional fabric and sonic nuance. In the thoughtful dramaturgical sequence of this recording, and in Kashkashian’s scrupulous reading, these Kurtág pieces, and the six movements of Ligeti’s Viola Sonata that follows them, seem like the work of a single visionary artist – conveyed in hidden signs and coded messages.”

Amongst her many notable albums for ECM New Series, Kashkashian has recorded Kurtág’s Movement for viola and orchestra (4654202) and also his Nine Pieces for Solo Viola, the early Jelek for viola, op 5, and the chamber work Hommage à R.Sch. (4379572). This is the ninth disc on the label devoted in whole or in part to Kurtág’s music.

Gramophone Magazine

Each piece is beautifully crafted but collectively may be too much of a good thing, even in such a superb rendition. A disc for specialists, perhaps, but a special one.

MusicWeb International

It’s a testament to Kim Kashkashian’s intellectual and digital stamina that attention never flags…The terse and dramatic music-making here is expertly realised by Kashkashian, who is fearless in her exploration of its manifold difficulties and rewards.

The Observer

Wisps, fragments, gestures, aphorisms: it’s impossible to pin down the 19 tiny pieces that make up Kurtág’s Signs, Games and Messages…They are perfectly projected by the Armenian-American violist Kim Kashkashian…[the Ligeti] sounds massive and solid by comparison, though it is equally elusive, equally original.

Download »

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation