Handel - Silla - Sonia Prina, Martina Belli, Roberta Invernizzi, Vivica Genaux, Sunhae Im - Europa Galante, Fabio Biondi - 2017 (FLAC, 24BIT – 48KHZ)

Handel – Silla – Sonia Prina, Martina Belli, Roberta Invernizzi, Vivica Genaux, Sunhae Im – Europa Galante, Fabio Biondi – 2017 (FLAC, 24BIT – 48KHZ)

Composer: George Frideric Handel
Performer: Sonia Prina, Martina Belli, Roberta Invernizzi, Vivica Genaux, Sunhae Im
Orchestra: Europa Galante
Conductor: Fabio Biondi
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 48kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Glossa
Size: 1.17 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

George Frideric Handel – Silla

CD 1

01. Ouverture 3:42
02. Marche 1:22

Atto Primo

03. Recitativo: Silla, s’oggi resplende (Metella, Lepido) 1:02
04. Aria: Alza il volo la mia fama (Silla) 3:11
05. Recitativo: S’ecclissa la mia gioia (Metella, Lepido) 0:40
06. Aria: Fuggon l’aure in me di vita (Metella) 4:34
07. Recitativo: Cieli, numi (Lepido, Flavia) 0:35
08. Aria: Se ben tuona il ciel irato (Lepido) 2:59
09. Recitativo: Sin con lingua di foco (Celia, Flavia) 0:21
10. Aria: Un sol raggio di speranza (Flavia) 5:15
11. Recitativo: Sino su li occhi miei (Celia, Claudio) 1:25
12. Aria: Senti, bell’idol mio (Claudio) 4:53
13. Recitativo: Sì, t’amo, oh caro (Celia) 0:17
14. Aria: Se la speranza nudrisce il mio cor (Celia) 2:50
15. Recitativo: Silla, dov’è la gloria (Claudio, Silla) 1:24
16. Aria: Con tromba guerriera (Claudio) 4:56

Atto Secondo

17. Recitativo: Flavia! (Silla, Flavia) 0:59
18. Aria: Qual scoglio in mezzo all’onde (Flavia) 2:14
19. Recitativo: T’arresta, altera (Silla) 0:21
20. Aria: Dolce nume de’ mortali (Silla) 2:26
21. Aria: Guerra, stragi e furor (Il Dio) 1:48
22. Scena: Guerra, stragi e furor (Silla) 0:15
23. Recitativo: Silla! Ove ti guida (Lepido, Silla) 1:15
24. Aria: È tempo, oh luci belle (Silla) 3:49
25. Recitativo: Mio diletto, che pensi (Flavia, Lepido) 0:57
26. Duetto: Sol per te, bell’idol mio (Flavia, Lepido) 6:12

CD 2

01. Recitativo: Bella, lascia i sospiri (Claudio, Celia) 1:08
02. Aria: Mi brilla nel seno (Claudio) 2:51
03. Recitativo: Mio bel nume, t’arresta (Silla, Metella) 0:40
04. Aria: Hai due vaghe pupilette (Metella) 2:33
05. Recitativo: Che miro, oh Dei (Flavia, Silla) 1:14
06. Recitativo: Tanto ardisci (Lepido, Silla) 0:32
07. Duetto: Ti lascio, idolo mio (Flavia, Lepido) 1:27
08. Recitativo: Anima mia (Claudio, Celia, Silla) 1:22
09. Recitativo: Scabro! Lepido sia (Silla) 0:21
10. Aria: La vendetta è un cibo al cor (Silla) 2:04
11. Recitativo: Oh! Perfido consorte (Metella) 0:30
12. Aria: Se’l mio mal da voi dipende (Claudio) 1:50
13. Recitativo: Sì, questi son trofei (Silla) 0:24
14. Recitativo: Deh! Corri al tuo signore (Metella, Silla) 0:21
15. Recitativo: T’affretta, oh Scabro (Metella) 0:19
16. Aria: Secondate, oh giusti dei (Metella) 2:10.

Atto Terzo

17. Recitativo: Quanto devo, oh Metella (Lepido, Metella) 0:47
18. Recitativo: Dunque partir deve (Metella, Lepido) 0:48
19. Aria: Io non ti chiedo più (Metella) 3:17
20. Recitativo: A tua fedeltade (Lepido) 0:27
21. Aria: Già respira in petto il core (Lepido) 2:36
22. Recitativo: L’imperio quanto è più vasto (Silla) 0:43
23. Recitativo: Placasti, oh bella diva (Silla, Celia) 1:04
24. Aria: Sei già morto, idolo mio (Celia) 3:51
25. Recitativo: Rimembranze funeste (Celia, Claudio) 1:32
26. Aria: Luci belle (Claudio) 2:44
27. Aria: Stelle rubelle (Flavia) 3:47
28. Recitativo: Al fin, del mio rigore (Silla, Flavia) 1:09
29. Aria (da capo): Ma infelice sarie vivere (Flavia) 0:59
30. Recitativo: Spirto adorato, oh Dio! (Flavia, Lepido) 1:00
31. Brano strumentale 0:48
32. Recitativo: Metella, oh Dio! (Silla, Metella) 1:02
33. Recitativo: Propizio arrida il cielo (Metella) 0:10
34. Sinfonia & Recitativo: Assistete, soccorrete (Metella) 1:18
35. Marche 1:15
36. Recitativo: Pera la feritade (Lepido, Claudio, Tutti) 0:08
37. Marche 0:48
38. Recitativo: De’ miei falli pentito (Silla) 1:00
39. Coro: Chi si trova tra procella (Tutti) 1:48

No opera from Handel is as enigmatic as Silla. This fourth London opera was composed in 1713; and that’s as far as our knowledge goes! The written music scores are incomplete and we have no information about any contemporary performance. The first Handel experts tried to find an explanation and agreed upon the theory that Silla was written for a private show in the household of the Count of Burlington, who was at the time the composer’s patron. Then, in 1969, the discovery of a glossary from June 1713 established a possible date of the first performance. The inclusion of an extravagant work dedicated to the Duke d’Aumont, a recently appointed French ambassador, suggests the possibility of a show organized by or for the Duke. That could explain not only the absence of an English translation in the glossary, which is unique about Handel’s London operas, but also the relative brevity of the work.

However, some problems remain unresolved. D’Aumont was a leading figure in the London life, and it seems rather unlikely that such an initiative would be ignored by the London press or forgotten by D’Aumont in his own writings. Was Silla played in 1713? As of yet, we can’t say for sure. There are further questions regarding the opera itself, in particular the choice of subject. This is indeed one of the rare historical operas from Handel concerned with Lucius Cornelius Silla’s end of life related by Plutarch; having seized Rome, this consul-come-tyran had his adversaries killed before retiring in a way as sudden as it was incredible in his country house to focus on his hobbies. It’s hard to imagine that this thread could fit an opera probably thought as a commemorative piece of an event of some sort: experts have been struggling to find answers and some have tried to discover an allegorical context. Apart from the theme, the quality and the meaning of the book have also been vehemently criticized. It’s significantly based on Italian cantatas from the composer’s youth and it’s interesting to notice that, as far as the style is concerned, the music goes back to a certain extent to his previous historical opera, Agrippina.




Leave a Reply

Post Navigation