Handel - Joseph and his Brethren, HWV 59 - Sherezade Panthaki, Gabrielle Haigh, Diana Moore, Abigail Levis, Nicholas Phan, Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra & Chorale, Nicholas McGegan - 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Handel – Joseph and his Brethren, HWV 59 – Sherezade Panthaki, Gabrielle Haigh, Diana Moore, Abigail Levis, Nicholas Phan, Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra & Chorale, Nicholas McGegan – 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Composer: Georg Friedrich Händel
Performer: Sherezade Panthaki – soprano, Gabrielle Haigh – soprano, Diana Moore – mezzo-soprano, Abigail Levis – mezzo-soprano, Nicholas Phan – tenor, Philip Cutlip – baritone
Orchestra: Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra & Chorale
Conductor: Nicholas McGegan
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 192kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Philharmonia Baroque Productions
Size: 6.19 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

HANDEL – Joseph and his Brethren

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)

Part 1

01. Ouverture
02. Air: Be firm, my soul
03. Recitative: Joseph, thy fame has reach’d great Pharaoh’s ear
04. Air: Come, divine inspirer, come
05. Recitative: Pardon, that I so long forgot thee, Joseph!
06. Air: Ingratitude’s the queen of crimes
07. Recitative: Thus stranger, I have laid my troubled thoughts
08. Chorus of Egyptians: O God of Joseph
09. Accompagnato: Pharaoh, thy dreams are one
10. Recitative: Divine interpreter!
11. Air: O lovely youth, with wisdom crown’d
12. Recitative: Wear, worthy man, this royal signet wear
13. Chorus of Egyptians: Joyful sounds, melodious strains
14. Recitative: Whence this unwonted ardour in my breast
15. Air: I feel a spreading flame
16. Recitative: Fair Asenath, I’ve asked thee of thy father
17. Duet: Celestial virgin! Godlike youth!
18. Recitative: Now, Potiphera, instant to the temple
19. A Grand March during the Procession
20. Recitative: ‘Tis done, the sacred knot is tied
21. Chorus of Egyptians: Immortal pleasures crown this pair
22. Recitative: Glorious and happy is thy lot
23. Air: Since the race of time begun
24. Chorus of Egyptians: Swift our numbers, swiftly roll

Part 2

25. Chorus of Egyptians: Hail, thou youth, by Heav’n belov’d:
26. Recitative: How vast a theme has Egypt for applause!
27. Air: Our fruits, whilst yet in blossom, die
28. Recitative: He’s Egypt’s common parent
29. Chorus of Egyptians: Blest be the man
30. Recitative: Phanor, we mention not his highest glory!
31. Air: Together, lovely innocents, grow up
32. Recitative: He then is silent
33. Accompagnato: Where are these brethren?
34. Air: Remorse, confusion, horror, fear
35. Recitative: This Hebrew prisoner
36. Accompagnato: Ye departed hours
37. Air: The peasant tastes the sweets of life
38. Recitative: But Simeon comes
39. Air: Impostor
40. Recitative: Whence, Asenath, this grief that hangs upon thee?
41. Air: The silver stream
42. Recitative: Tell me, oh tell me thy heart’s malady
43. Air: To keep afar from all offence
44. Chorus of the Brethren: Thus one, with ev’ry virtue crown’d
45. Recitative: Once more, O pious Zaphnath
46. Accompagnato: Our rev’rend sire intreats thee
47. Recitative: This kiss, my gracious lord
48. Air: Thou deign’st to call thy servant son
49. Recitative: Sweet innocence, divine simplicity!
50. Chorus of the Brethren: O God, who in thy heav’nly hand

Part 3

51. Sinfonia
52. Recitative: What say’st thou, Phanor?
53. Air: The wanton favours of the great
54. Recitative: Whence so disturb’d, my lord?
55. Air: Ah jealousy, thou pelican
56. Recitative: Oh, wrong me not!
57. Air: The people’s favour, and the smiles of pow’r
58. Recitative: Art thou not Zaphnath?
59. Air: Prophetic raptures swell my breast
60. Recitative: They come, and indignation in their looks
61. Accompagnato: What, without me?
62. Air: Oh, pity!
63. Recitative: To prison with him!
64. Recitative: What counsel can we take?
65. Air: O Gracious God
66. Chorus of the Brethren: Eternal monarch of the sky
67. Recitative: But peace, Zaphnath returns
68. Air: Thou hadst, my lord, a father once
69. Accompagnato: Give him up the lad
70. Recitative: I can no longer
71. Recitative: Whilst the Nile and Memphis
72. Duet: What’s sweeter than the new-blown rose?
73. Recitative: With songs of ardent gratitude and praise
74. Chorus of the Brethren: We will rejoice in thy salvation.

Philharmonia has performed more of Handel’s oratorios than any period instrument orchestra, and Nic McGegan is internationally known for his interpretation of these monumental works. Joseph and his Brethren is new to our repertoire and tells the Biblical story of Joseph and his reconciliation with his Jewish family in Egypt. It gives Handel the opportunity to depict the grandeur of Pharaoh’s court and the faith of Joseph’s estranged brothers in a plot of intrigue and mistaken identity. Don’t miss this rare opportunity to hear this dramatic work , rarely performed since Handel’s lifetime, in a definitive performance led by Nic McGegan with our Orchestra, Chorale, and a superb cast of soloists.




Leave a Reply

Post Navigation