Gluck - Orfeo ed Euridice - Iestyn Davies, Sophie Bevan, Rebecca Bottone, La Nuova Musica, David Bates - 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Gluck – Orfeo ed Euridice – Iestyn Davies, Sophie Bevan, Rebecca Bottone, La Nuova Musica, David Bates – 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: Christoph Willibald Gluck
Performer: Iestyn Davies (Orfeo), Sophie Bevan (Euridice), Rebecca Bottone (Amor)
Orchestra: La Nuova Musica
Conductor: David Bates
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Pentatone
Size: 1.55 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Iestyn Davies, Sophie Bevan, Rebecca Bottone, La Nuova Musica, David Bates /

Gluck – Orfeo ed Euridice (2019)

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-87)

Orfeo ed Euridice 1:28:12

01. Overture 3:10
02. Ah! Se intorno a quest’urna funesta [1] 2:29
03. Basta, basta, o compagni 0:49
04. Ballo. Larghetto 2:11
05. Ah! Se intorno a quest’urna funesta [2] 1:53
06. Chiamo il mio ben così 1:12
07. Euridice! Ombra cara, ove sei? 1:10
08. Cerco il mio ben così 1:13
09. Euridice! Ah, questo nome san le spiagge 1:11
10. Piango il mio ben così 1:08
11. Numi! Barbari numi! 0:52
12. T’assiste Amore 1:49
13. Gli sguardi trattieni 2:42
14. Che disse! Che ascoltai! 1:46
15. Presto 0:38
16. Ballo [1] 1:15
17. Chi mai dell’Erebo [1] 0:26
18. Ballo [2] 0:45
19. Chi mai dell’Erebo [2] 1:01
20. Ballo [3] 1:12
21. Deh! Placatevi con me 2:19
22. Misero giovine! 0:56
23. Mille pene, ombre moleste 0:47
24. Ah, quale incognito affetto flebile [1] 0:42
25. Men tiranne, ah! Voi sareste 0:39
26. Ah, quale incognito affetto flebile [2] 1:20
27. Ballo [1] 1:59
28. Ballo [2] 3:43
29. Che puro ciel [1] 4:59
30. Vieni a’ regni del riposo 1:16
31. Ballo [3] 2:27
32. Anime avventurose 0:41
33. Viene Euridice 1:16
34. Vieni, segui i miei passi 6:00
35. Ma vieni e taci! 2:56
36. Qual vita è questa mai 2:02
37. Che fiero momento! 2:55
38. Ecco un nuovo tormento! 2:28
39. Ahimè! Dove trascorsi! 1:11
40. Che farò senza Euridice! 3:42
41. Ma finisca, e per sempre, co’ la vita il dolor! 1:11
42. Orfeo! Che fai? 1:52
43. Ballo – Trionfi Amore, e il mondo intero serva all’impero della beltà 11:59

La Nuova Musica presents a new live recording of Gluck’s Orfeo ed Euridice, with countertenor star Iestyn Davies singing the title role. Once created to reinstate the “noble simplicity and calm grandeur” of ancient Greek culture, the opera continues to delight audiences with its direct and unpretentious appeal, epitomized by the world-famous aria Che farò senza Euridice. This live recording presents the original 1762 Vienna premiere version of the opera, with Gluck’s exquisite evocation of the Elysian Fields from his 1774 Paris version as a small addition.

La Nuova Musica and its artistic director David Bates are among the most exciting young Baroque ensembles of our times. For their first PENTATONE recording, they work together with three exceptional vocalists: countertenor Iestyn Davies and sopranos Sophie Bevan and Rebecca Bottone.

BBC Music Magazine

Bates is, like Gluck, wonderfully radical. Where other directors smooth over disjunctions, he revels in rupture…This is directorship at its most alert, and aiding Bates is an optimal cast…Davies radiates Orfeo’s impassioned tenderness, changing vocal colours as the drama demands. Sophie Bevan’s Euridice swings, with blazing bravura and increasing intensity, from anguish to narcissism…It’s the stuff of Gluck’s dreams.

Sunday Times

On their own terms, these are finely sung performances — Davies is affecting in Che faro senza Euridice — but Bates’s tempi tend to err on the lethargic side in the slower dances. Rebecca Bottone is a pert, perky Cupid.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation