Corelli, Telemann, Rameau - Le Concert Spirituel (1725-1774) Au temps de Louis XV - Le Concert des Nations, Jordi Savall - 2010 (SACD-R, ISO)

Corelli, Telemann, Rameau – Le Concert Spirituel (1725-1774) Au temps de Louis XV – Le Concert des Nations, Jordi Savall – 2010 (SACD-R, ISO)

Composer: Arcangelo Corelli, Georg Philipp Telemann, Jean-Philippe Rameau
Orchestra: Le Concert des Nations
Conductor: Jordi Savall
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 SACD-R
Format: ISO
Bit Depth: 64(2.8 MHz/1 Bit)
Number of channels: 5.0, 2.0
Label:  Alia Vox
Size: 3.65 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes
Server: rapidgator

Le Concert des Nations, Jordi Savall
Le Concert Spirituel (1725-1774) Au temps de Louis XV

Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)

Concerto Grosso en Ré Majeur Op.6 n.4

01. Adagio
02. Allegro
03. Adagio
04. Vivace
05. Allegro
06. Allegro

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Ouverture avec la Suite en Ré Majeur pour Viola da Gamba et Cordes TWV 55:D6

07. Ouverture
08. La Trompette
09. Sarabande
10. Rondeau
11. Bourrée
12. Courante-Double
13. Gigue

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Concerto in La minore per Flauto Dolce, Viola di Gamba, Corde e Fondamento TWV 52 a:1

14. Grave
15. Allegro
16. Dolce
17. Allegro

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Ouverture avec la Suite en Mi mineur, Tafelmusik à deux flûtes et cordes TWV 55:e1

18. Ouverture: Ouverture: Lentement – Vite – Lentement
19. Réjouissance
20. Rondeau
21. Loure
22. Passepied
23. Air, un peu vivement
24. Gigue

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)

Les Indes Galantes. Suite des airs à jouer (Symphonies)

25. Air pour les Guerriers portans les Drapeaux
26. Air pour les Amants qui suivent Bellone – Lent, tendrement-Vite
27. Orage
28. Air pour les Esclaves Africains
29. Air pour Borée et la Rose – Très vite
30. 2ème Air pour Zéphire
31. Tambourins I et II

Le Concert des Nations:

Enrico Onofri (violin concertino), Pierre Hamon (recorder), Marc Hantaï (transverse flute), Charles Zebley (transverse flute), Yi-Fen Chen (transverse flute), Mauro Lopes (violin), Riccardo Minasi (violin), Olivia Centurione (violin), Isabel Serrano (violin), Alba Rocca (violin), Lorenzo Colitto (violin), Santi Aubert (violin), Angelo Bartoletti (viola), Govanni Rosa (viola), Balázs Máté (‘cello), Antoine Ladrette (‘cello), Rolf Lislevand (theorbo, guitar), Xavier Diaz-Latorre (theorbo), Xavier Puertas (violone), Carles Cristóbal (bassoon), Luca Guglielmi (harpsichord), Pedro Estevan (percussion), Jordi Savall (viola da gamba)

This Jordi Saval album, that was delayed in the post & just arrived, fits nicely at the end of the Telemann mini series

The ‘concert spirituel’ was 1 of the 1st public concert series in existence. The concerts began in Paris in 1725 & ended in 1790. The series was founded to provide entertainment during Lent & on religious holidays when the other spectacles (the Paris Opera, Comédie-Française, & Comédie-Italienne) were closed. The programmes featured a mixture of sacred choral works & virtuosic instrumental pieces, & for many years took place in a magnificently-decorated Salle des Cent Suisses (Hall of the Hundred Swiss Guards) in the Tuileries Palace. They started at 6pm & were primarily attended by well-to-do bourgeois, the lower aristocracy & foreign visitors.

Jordi Savall brings these magnificent evenings back to life, thanks to an imaginary ‘concert spirituel’ programme featuring 3 major composers from Italy, Germany & France: Corelli, Telemann & Rameau. This album enables us to (re)discover the quintessence of the musical life during the reign of Louis XV.
Review by JJ September 14, 2010 (4 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance: Sonics:

The new recording by Jordi Savall is devoted to the Concert Spirituel at the time of Louis XV, with works by Corelli (Concert Grosso in D major Op.6 N°4), Telemann (Overture with the Suite in D minor TWV 55:D6, Concerto in A minor, Overture with the Suite in E minor “Tafelmusik” TWV 55:e1), and Rameau (Les Indes Galantes, Suite des airs à jouer). The Concert Spirituel saw the light of day in 1725, and as Michael Hurd notes, it programmed every year a series of 24 public concerts, and did so until 1791. Founded by the oboist Anne Danican Philidor, they were in fact “benefits” given during the periods (like Lent) when other spectacles were forbidden. The term “spiritual” indicated, at least at first, that religious music was the major component.” Which is not the case in the program Jordi Savall has concocted. Rather, accompanying and directing the Concert des Nations, he plunges us into a universe of overwhelming musical beauty in which charm predominates from the beginning to end of the scores performed, with a little something extra in poetic delicacy for the work of Rameau. Here is, quite simply, a must-have SACD.

Jean-Jacques Millo
Translation Lawrence Schulman



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation