Butterworth, Mahler, Weill, Stephan - Requiem The Pity of War - Ian Bostridge, Antonio Pappano - 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Butterworth, Mahler, Weill, Stephan – Requiem The Pity of War – Ian Bostridge, Antonio Pappano – 2018 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: George Butterworth, Gustav Mahler, Kurt Weill, Rudi Stephan
Performer: Ian Bostridge – tenor, Antonio Pappano – piano
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Warner Classics
Size: 982 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Ian Bostridge, Antonio Pappano / Butterworth, Mahler, Weill, Stephan ‎- Requiem The Pity of War

Butterworth, G: A Shropshire Lad – six songs 12:15

01. I. “Loveliest of trees” 2:38
02. II. “When I was one-and-twenty” 1:16
03. III. “Look not in my eyes” 1:52
04. IV. “Think no more, lad” 1:15
05. V. “The lads in their hundreds” 2:07
06. VI. “Is my team ploughing?” 3:07

Stephan: Ich will dir singen ein Hohelied – Sechs Lieder auf Texte von Gerda von Robertus 9:12

07. I. Kythere 1:38
08. II. Pantherlied 0:47
09. III. Abendfrieden 1:24
10. IV. In Nachbars Garten 1:56
11. V. Glück zu Zweien 1:42
12. VI. Das Hohelied der Nacht 1:45

Weill, K: Walt Whitman Songs (4) 17:33

13. I. “Beat! Beat! Drums!” 3:21
14. II. “Oh captain! My captain!” 4:36
15. III. “Come up from the fields, father” 5:13
16. IV. Dirge for Two Veterans 4:23

Mahler: Des Knaben Wunderhorn (1899 version) 19:13

17. XI. Revelge 6:45
18. IX. Wo die schönen Trompeten blasen 6:33
19. XII. Der Tamboursg’sell 5:55

“My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the pity” – Wilfred Owen (1920)

Marking the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I, Ian Bostridge and Antonio Pappano have assembled Requiem, a programme of songs offering historical and poetic perspectives on this momentous event. Composed over a period of some 50 years, the songs are by Gustav Mahler, Kurt Weill and two creative musicians of promise and achievement whose lives were cut short by the Great War, the Englishman George Butterworth (1885-1916) and the German Rudi Stephan (1887-1915).

Presto Classical

The three Wunderhorn songs are the highlight of the album for me, though I suspect that they’re also the tracks which will really polarise listeners: this is where Bostridge pushes the voice to its absolute limits, flattening the tone and leaving high notes exposed and raw as Mahler’s terrified little drummer-boy and mortally wounded soldier live out their final, agonising moments…Like the album as a whole, it’s by no means an easy listen – but nor should it be.
Katherine Cooper

The Times

This most anguished of British tenors sings as if piercing each note with a bleeding arrow in a selection that doesn’t just make you feel deeply, but also makes you think…a most thoughtfully planned, wide-ranging recital, splendidly serviced by Pappano’s nimble piano.




Leave a Reply

Post Navigation