Barriere, Geminiani, Handel, Muffat, Quantz, Roman, Telemann - Grand Tour - Cicerone Ensemble - 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Barriere, Geminiani, Handel, Muffat, Quantz, Roman, Telemann – Grand Tour – Cicerone Ensemble – 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: Jean-Baptiste Barrière, George Frideric Handel, Georg Muffat, Georg Philipp Telemann, Francesco Geminiani, Johann Helmich Roman, Johann Joachim Quantz
Performer: Andreas Gilger – harpsichord, Adrian Cygan – cello
Orchestra: Cicerone Ensemble
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Genuin
Size: 1.43 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (booklet PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Cicerone Ensemble / Barriere, Geminiani, Handel, Muffat, Quantz, Roman, Telemann – Grand Tour (2019)

Jean-Baptiste Barrière (b. 1958)

6 Cello Sonatas, Livre 3, No. 2 in D Minor (Arr. for Cello, Flute & Harpsichord) 7:26

01. I. Adagio 1:56
02. II. Allegro 1:16
03. III. Aria. Largo 2:52
04. IV. Giga 1:22

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

Sonata in G major for flute and continuo, HWV363b, Op 1 No 5 7:32

05. I. Adagio 1:46
06. II. Allegro 2:03
07. III. Adagio 1:55
08. IV. Bourrée 0:46
09. V. Menuetto 1:02

Georg Muffat (1653-1704)

10. Apparatus musico-organisticus, RISM M8127: No. 14, Passacaglia in G Minor (Performed on Harpsichord) 8:48

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Flute Sonata in B Minor, TWV 41:h4 11:59

11. I. Cantabile 2:52
12. II. Allegro 2:11
13. III. Dolce 3:25
14. IV. Allegro 3:31

Francesco Geminiani (1687-1762)

Sonata in C major for cello and basso continuo, Op. 5, No. 3 11:57

15. I. Andante 1:44
16. II. Allegro 4:02
17. III. Affetuoso 3:44
18. IV. Allegro 2:27

Johann Helmich Roman (1694-1758)

Flute Sonata in B Minor, BeRI 206 12:37

19. I. Larghetto 4:28
20. II. Allegro 2:33
21. III. Non troppo allegro 2:49
22. IV. Grave 1:50
23. V. Allegro 0:57

Johann Joachim Quantz (1679-1773)

Flute Sonata in B Minor, QV 1:168 11:58

24. I. Larghetto 3:18
25. II. Allegretto 4:45
26. III. Presto 3:55

Recorded: 25-27 February 2018
Recording Venue: Neumarkt i.d. Oberpfalz, Germany

Listening to music is always a journey for the listener – but with the Ensemble Cicerone’s new GENUIN album, the composers were already adventurers – people who, in the Baroque era, took to the dangerous roads on land and water all over Europe and ensured that musical styles met and mixed. The musicians of the ensemble, which bears in its name the great travel guidebooks, teach at the Mozarteum and at the Cologne University of Music: they let the intricate paths of emotions arise before our inner ears in the wonderful music of Handel, Muffat, Telemann, and others and thus cast a spell on us. Better than Baedeker! For the Cicerone Ensemble, just playing music is not enough. Listening to historical music is only part of the experience the three young musicians set out to provide. Their goal is to showcase music and bring it to life like a tourist guide would an old painting or an ancient building, hence the name “Cicerone” (in Italian- “Guide”).

MusicWeb International

A fascinating and enjoyable programme, superbly and sensitively performed.



Leave a Reply

Post Navigation