Bach - Orgelbuchlein, BWV 599–644 - Stephen Farr - 2020 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Bach – Orgelbuchlein, BWV 599–644 – Stephen Farr – 2020 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: Stephen Farr – organ
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Resonus Classics
Size: 1.33 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (booklet PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Stephen Farr / Bach – Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599–644 (2020)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

01. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 599 01:16
02. Gott, durch deine Güte oder Gottes Sohn ist kommen, BWV 600 01:12
03. Herr Christ, der ein’ge Gottes Sohn oder Herr Gott, nun sei gepreiset, BWV 601 01:25
04. Lob sei dem allmächtigen Gott, BWV 602 00:54
05. Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603 00:54
06. Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 604 01:41
07. Der Tag der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605 01:52
08. Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 606 00:43
09. Vom Himmel kam der Engel Schar, BWV 607 01:15
10. In dulci jubilo, BWV 608 01:24
11. Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 609 00:46
12. Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 610 02:48
13. Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 6110 2:40
14. Wir Christenleut [habn jetzund Freud], BWV 612 01:28
15. Helft mir Gotts Güte preisen, BWV 613 01:08
16. Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614 02:24
17. In dir ist Freude, BWV 615 03:08
18. Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, BWV 616 01:53
19. Herr Gott, nun schleuß den Himmel auf, BWV 617 02:31
20. O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 618 03:34
21. Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 619 01:24
22. Christus, der uns selig macht, BWV 620 02:12
23. Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund, BWV 621 01:18
24. O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde groß, BWV 622 05:39
25. Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ, daß du für uns gestorben bist, BWV 623 01:02
26. Holf Gott, daß mir’s gelinge, BWV 624 01:38
27. Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 625 01:15
28. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland [der den Tod] BWV 626 01:07
29. Christ ist erstanden, BWV 627 04:07
30. Erstanden ist der heilge Christ, BWV 628 00:50
31. Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag, BWV 629 01:06
32. Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn, BWV 630 01:35
33. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 631 00:46
34. Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 632 01:15
35. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 634 01:53
36. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 633 02:40
37. Dies sind die heilgen zehn Gebot, BWV 635 01:26
38. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 636 01:16
39. Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 637 01:26
40. Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 638 01:07
41. Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 01:50
42. In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 640 00:57
43. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV 641 01:55
44. Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten, BWV 642 01:38
45. Alle Menschen müssen sterben, BWV 643 01:36
46. Ach wie nichtig, ach wie flüchtig, BWV 644 00:43

Organist Stephen Farr continues his survey of works by Johann Sebastian Bach with one of the composer’s major collections of organ chorale preludes – the Orgelbüchlein. This unfinished compendium of miniatures, said by Mendelssohn to bear ‘most evidently the marks of his genius’, contains much variety with each of theforty-six completed works containing a well-defined and individual character. For this recording, Farr performs on the eighteenth-century Trost organ of Waltershausen’s stunning Stadtkirche in Germany.

Sunday Times

“It’s remarkable how much Bach can pack into the tiniest piece….Farr performs with immaculate poise.”

Judith Bingham – Composer

Born in Nottingham in 1952, and raised in Mansfield and Sheffield, Judith Bingham began composing as a small child, and then studied composing and singing at the Royal Academy of Music in London. She was awarded the Principal’s prize in 1971, and 6 years later the BBC Young Composer award. Recent composition prizes include: the Barlow Prize for a cappella music in 2004, two British Composer Awards in 2004 (choral and liturgical) one in 2006 (choral) and the instrumental award in 2008.

Judith Bingham was a member of the BBC Singers for many years, and between 2004 and 2009 she was their ‘Composer in Association’, during which time she wrote a series of choral works. Several of these were for the BBC Singers, but there were also pieces for other professional, amateur and collegiate choirs, including Salt in the Blood, written for the BBC Symphony Chorus to perform at the 1995 Proms, a Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis for King’s College Cambridge, and diverse anthems and church works for many UK cathedrals. A CD of some of her choral works –‘Remoter Worlds’ by the BBC Singers was released in 2009 on the Signum label. In 2007 she was made a Fellow of the Royal School of Church Music for distinguished services to church music.

Although Bingham’s output is marked by the number and variety of its choral works, she has always been seen as an all-rounder, and the scope of her activities has included pieces for brass band, symphonic wind ensemble and various chamber groups and solo instruments, concertos for trumpet and bassoon and tuba, and several impressive works for large orchestra. She has written a substantial body of pieces for organ including Jacob’s Ladder, a concerto written for Stephen Cleobury and Philip Brunelle. A CD of her organ music performed by Tom Winpenny will be released in 2010. A carol God would be born in thee was performed at the King’s College Cambridge Nine Lessons and Carols at Christmas 2004 and was released by EMI on the CD ‘On Christmas Day’. Recently her works have included See and Keep Silent for the BBC Singers and Guy Johnston, and Shadow Aspect for choir, organ and timpani, written for the Edinburgh Royal Choral Union.

Stephen Farr – Organist

Stephen Farr is Director of Music at St Paul’s Church, Knightsbridge, and at Worcester College, Oxford, posts which he combines with a varied career as soloist, continuo player, and conductor. He was Organ Scholar of Clare College, Cambridge, graduating with a double first in Music and an MPhil in musicology. He then held appointments at Christ Church, Oxford, and at Winchester and Guildford Cathedrals.

A former student of David Sanger and a prizewinner at international competition level, he has an established reputation as one of the leading recitalists of his generation, and has appeared in the UK in venues including the Royal Albert Hall (where he gave the premiere of Judith Bingham’s The Everlasting Crown in the BBC Proms 2011); Bridgewater Hall; Symphony Hall, Birmingham; Westminster Cathedral; King’s College, Cambridge, St Paul’s Celebrity Series and Westminster Abbey: he also appears frequently on BBC Radio 3 as both performer and presenter.

He has performed widely in both North and South America (most recently as guest soloist and director at the Cartagena International Music Festival), in Australia, and throughout Europe.

He has a particular commitment to contemporary music, and has been involved in premieres of works by composers including Patrick Gowers, Francis Pott and Robert Saxton; he also collaborated with Thomas Adès in a recording of Under Hamelin Hill, part of an extensive and wide-ranging discography.

His concerto work has included engagements with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Ulster Orchestra and the London Mozart Players; he made his debut in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw in 2005. He has also worked with many other leading ensembles including the Berlin Philharmonic (with whom he appeared in the premiere of Jonathan Harvey’s Weltethos under Sir Simon Rattle in October 2011), Florilegium, the Bach Choir, Holst Singers, BBC Singers, Polyphony, The English Concert, London Baroque Soloists, City of London Sinfonia, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Wallace Collection, Endymion Ensemble, the Philharmonia, Academy of Ancient Music, Britten Sinfonia and Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

Download »

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation