Bach, Brouwer, Jobim, Koehne, McCartney, Lennon, Piazzólla, Sor - The Guitar - Rupert Boyd - 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Bach, Brouwer, Jobim, Koehne, McCartney, Lennon, Piazzólla, Sor – The Guitar – Rupert Boyd – 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 192KHZ)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Leo Brouwer, Antonio Carlos ‘Tom’ Jobim, Graeme Koehne, Lennon & McCartney, John Winston Lennon, Astor Piazzólla, Fernando Sor
Performer: Rupert Boyd – guitar
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 192kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Dorian Sono Luminus
Size: 2,08 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Rupert Boyd – The Guitar (2019)

01. Jobim: Felicidade (Arr. R. Dyens for Guitar) (04:41)
02. Jobim: Estrada branca (Arr. P. Bellinati for Guitar) (02:47)
03. Sor: Introduction & Variations on a Theme by Mozart, Op. 9 (08:03)

Bach, J S: Lute Suite No. 4 in E major, BWV1006a (19:37)

04. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: I. Prelude (04:21)
05. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: II. Loure (03:25)
06. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: III. Gavotte en rondeau (03:18)
07. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: IV. Menuett I – V. Menuett II (04:53)
08. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: VI. Bourrée (01:37)
09. Suite in E Major, BWV 1006a: VII. Gigue (02:03)

10. Koehne: A Closed World of Fine Feelings (Version for Guitar) (05:20)

Brouwer, L: Estudios Sencillos (8:03)

11. Estudios Sencillos: No. 1, Movido (00:45)
12. Estudios Sencillos: No. 2, Coral. Lento (01:09)
13. Estudios Sencillos: No. 3, Rápido (00:20)
14. Estudios Sencillos: No. 4, Cómodo. Allegretto (00:41)
15. Estudios Sencillos: No. 5, MontuNo. Allegretto (00:50)
16. Estudios Sencillos: No. 6, — (01:01)
17. Estudios Sencillos: No. 7, Lo más rápido posible (00:38)
18. Estudios Sencillos: No. 8, Tranquilo (01:20)
19. Estudios Sencillos: No. 9, Scherzo (00:38)
20. Estudios Sencillos: No. 10, — (00:41)

21. Piazzólla: Milonga del angel (Arr. B. Benítez for Guitar) (05:31)
22. Piazzólla: La muerte del angel (Arr. B. Benítez for Guitar) (03:50)
23. Lennon, J: Julia (Arr. R. Boyd for Guitar) (02:03)

This album pays homage to the guitar. While the casual listener may recognize many of these works as favorites from the guitar canon, the majority of the repertoire wasn’t originally written for the instrument. Only the Sor and the Brouwer were originally guitar compositions. The other works started life in a different form, and stand testament to the strength and versatility of the guitar to not only play such a diverse range of repertoire, but to truly embrace it. With its polyphonic capabilities and roots in popular music around the world, the guitar is singularly capable of such a traverse of styles. This album is not, as the title may imply, a collection of the most beloved or greatest hits from the classical guitar repertoire, but instead a demonstration of the power and ability of the guitar to perform and assume ownership of such beloved repertoire. New York-based Australian classical guitarist Rupert Boyd has been described by The Washington Post as “truly evocative”, by Gramophone as a “fine guitarist”, and by Classical Guitar Magazine as “a player who deserves to be heard”. He has performed across four continents, from New York’s Carnegie Hall, to festivals in Europe, China, India, Nepal, the Philippines, New Zealand and Australia. Active as both a soloist and chamber musician, Rupert Boyd regularly performs throughout the world in Boyd Meets Girl, with cellist Laura Metcalf, and as part of the Australian Guitar Duo with guitarist Jacob Cordover.


Leave a Reply

Post Navigation