Arensky, Glazunov, Prokofiev, Rachmaninov, Scriabin, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky - Russian Legends - Cheng² Duo - 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Arensky, Glazunov, Prokofiev, Rachmaninov, Scriabin, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky – Russian Legends – Cheng² Duo – 2019 (FLAC, 24BIT – 96KHZ)

Composer: Anton Stepanovich Arensky, Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov, Sergei Sergeievitch Prokofiev, Sergey Vassilievich Rachmaninov, Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin, Dmitri Shostakovich, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Performer: Bryan Cheng – cello, Silvie Cheng – piano
Orchestra: Cheng2 Duo
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1 CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bit Depth: 24bit / 96kHz
Number of channels: 2.0
Label: Audite
Size: 2.43 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes (PDF)
Server: rapidgator

Cheng² Duo / Arensky/Аренский, Glazunov/Глазунов, Prokofiev/Прокофьев, Rachmaninov/Рахманинов, Scriabin/Скрябин, Shostakovich/Шостакович, Tchaikovsky/Чайковский – Russian Legends

01. Prokofiev: Adagio for cello & piano (from Cinderella), Op. 97bis 4:59

Prokofiev: Cello Sonata in C major, Op. 119 24:36

02. I. Andante grave 11:11
03. II. Moderato 5:01
04. III. Allegro ma non troppo 8:24

05. Glazunov: Chant du ménéstrel, Op. 71 (version for cello and piano) 3:52

Shostakovich: Cello Sonata in D minor, Op. 40 27:19

06. I. Allegro non troppo 11:50
07. II. Allegro 3:19
08. III. Largo 8:11
09. IV. Allegro 3:59

10. Tchaikovsky: Pezzo capriccioso in B Minor, Op. 62 (version for cello and piano) 6:39

Arensky: 2 Pieces, Op. 12 7:12

11. No. 1. Petite ballade 3:04
12. No. 2. Danse-capricieuse 4:08

13. Scriabin: Romans (Romance) (arr. for cello and piano) 2:02
14. Rachmaninov: Lied (Romance) in F minor 2:18

Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19 37:50

15. I. Lento – Allegro moderato 13:42
16. II. Allegro scherzando 6:37
17. III. Andante 6:05
18. IV. Allegro mosso 11:26

19. Rachmaninov: Songs (14), Op. 34 – No. 14. Vocalise (arr. for cello and piano) 6:16

20. Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 11 / TH 111 / IPT 118: II. Andante Cantabile (Arr. for Cello and Piano by Cheng² Duo) 06:58

After forays to Spain and France, the Cheng2 Duo ventures to Russia for their third audite album. Portraying part of the cello’s musical history in Russia, Bryan and Silvie Cheng perform a programme centring on three great sonatas for cello and piano by Shostakovich, Rachmaninov and Prokofiev, which are contrasted by a series of shorter works.

Cellist Bryan Cheng is hailed internationally for his “absolutely astonishing” (La Presse, Montréal) command of the cello, and “abundant facility, innate musicality, and sense of joy” (New York Concert Review). He made his solo debut at age 10 with the Orchestre de chambre I Musici de Montréal, his Carnegie Hall recital debut at 14, and most recently, his Elbphilharmonie solo debut with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and conductor Joshua Weilerstein in 2018.

Lauded for her “extraordinarily varied palette” (WholeNote Magazine) and “purely magical” playing (New York Concert Review), pianist Silvie Cheng illuminates musical works with her exquisite touch at the keyboard. Since her Carnegie Hall solo debut in 2011, she has performed as both soloist and collaborative pianist across the globe. As guest soloist with orchestra, Silvie most recently made her debut with the New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra in 2018 and will debut with Symphony Nova Scotia in the 2019-20 season.


Leave a Reply

Post Navigation